Stop, collaborate and listen.

// Earth Hour is the biggest global climate change initiative started in 2007 by Sydney, Australia.

I often have fleeting doubts about whether my own capability to turn off the powerpoints when I leave the room or slightly decrease the amount of electricity I use on a daily basis does one bit of difference in the whole ‘save our planet’ spaz-out. Just sayin’. After all, I’m not the dude pumping hoards of greenhouse gases into the atmosphere in the middle of nowhere and hell, I don’t even drive a car anymore. I don’t feel assured or confident that reducing my own pathetic little carbon footprint is going to help if the massive engineering big-wigs don’t get on board too. 

Along comes Earth Hour, a startling reminder of how our own individual contribution can count towards sustaining our planet.  Not only for one hour a year, but as a changed daily practice. In 2007, over 2.2 million homes and businesses in Australia hit the switch to make their stand against climate change. Only a year on, Earth Hour had become a global sustainability movement with more than 50 million people across 35 countries participating (this figure more than doubled for 2009). 

Earth Hour 2010 took place last night on Saturday 27th March with business’ and communities throughout the world registering online and contributing to the global scheme. I was in Federation Sqaure, just before Melbourne’s Art Centre dimmed it’s colourful display at 8.30pm. Unable to actually witness the crucial moment (Robert Pattinson’s new film at ACMI also started at 8.30pm, rude!) I was able to catch a glimpse of the awe-inspiring official video.

This video really strikes a chord; I get it now. Switching off the lights for an hour decreases 10.1% of Melbourne’s usual electricity consumption. By having faith that I can make a wee difference, and that our neighbours are also fighting the fight, shaving even a fifth of that percentage off usual consumption on a daily basis is enough of a reason for me. 

(Damn Coldplay get’s me every time). 

// Dan Z

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

