Burqa? Oui oui.

// Not often do I get outraged by politics. I am the first to admit that I’d rather read about Lindsay Lohan and her SCRAM bracelet than hear about mind-numbing political brap-brap. Watching the news makes me depressed and angry. Give me Perez Hilton over the 7.30 report any day. Bare this in mind before continuing. 

I was reading News.com a few months ago (yeah, not the most reliable news source but it works for me so nuuuh) when I stumbled upon an article about Muslim women being banned in France for wearing burqa’s. Excuse me, but whaaaaat? I know that a lot of people believe that this somehow masquerades as progress for women’s rights, but before placing this ban, did the French government ever stop and remember that these women choose to wear burqa’s and that it’s actually a huge part of their religion? I understand that in some instances Muslim women are forced to wear the garment out of fear of abandoning their religious upbringing (yeah, that gets up my goat), but is it really necessary to completely forbid women to wear it? Why not opt to give women the option instead of threatening them with a monetary fine? What happened to democracy and freedom, maaan.

Burqa’s have been banned in French public schools since 2004. Nicolas Sarkozy (President of France) defended the law by saying it was because ‘France cannot accept that women be prisoners behind a screen, cut off from all social life, deprived of all identity’. Yeah, yeah Sarkozy. The feminist side of me agrees. But depriving people of their religious freedom is just as wrong and I hope to GaGa that other governments don’t follow.

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

And Australia’s stance on the issue? Douche-bag Tony Abbott (sorry, slip of the tongue) stated; ‘I think a lot of Australians find the wearing of the burqa quite confronting and I wish it was not widely worn. But the point is we don’t have a policy to ban it and we have always respected people’s rights in this area’. At least he got something right. However inarticulate he chooses to voice it. 

If they are going to ban something, please at least make it the Bieber-religion that some 12 year old twat made up (No I kid, I kid. Love you Biebs.)

// Bear-Z

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

